Let’s chat about Fall, chia and all things pumpkin 

Fall has landed. That means Winter is around the corner.
Here on the west coast, that means rain. Usually lots of rain. I’m ok with rain because it seldom stops me from doing anything. Rain does not need shovelling. Rain does not cause pipes to burst. Make sure your gutters are clear, your drains are intact and you should be good to go. Rain doesn’t stop me from a daily walk. On the really ugly days, I will stay inside but light rain makes me reach for a wind-breaker and hi-vis vest.
Leaves are donning the most wonderful shades of gold and red and then hitting the ground. Maybe that’s how Autumn came to be known as Fall. It’s time to put on a sweater and slippers and snuggle under a blanket to watch a show or read a book. Does anyone still do that? Or is everything 100% digital? I’m still a fan of a good old fashioned book. No low battery signal, no need to be plugged in to download the next chapter. Just open and go. Reread a chapter, passage or sentence easily. I usually have several books on the go at the same time. I can grab one book when I need to reference something in another.
With the cooler weather, comes all things pumpkin. There’s no denying the pairing of cinnamon, nutmeg, cloves and pumpkin to be close to otherworldly. The pumpkin spice enjoyment face can be recognized by the trademark eyes closed, head slightly tipped up, deep inhalation through the nose and a serene smile. There may or may not be arms wrapped around in a self-hug. Hands may be embracing a mug. Upon exhalation, the eyes will open slowly and there no doubt will be a quiet ‘mmmmmm’.
Everywhere you look, there are pumpkin spice candles, coffees, ice creams, cake, cookies and the list goes on and on. If you can dream it, you can pumpkin spice it.
Why should chia pudding be left out?

The simplicity of this recipe is right up my alley. The other beautiful thing about chia puddings is they do double duty as a dessert. Breakfast for dessert? Sign me up. Late night snack that you are not consumed with guilt about eating? Um, yes please.
Let’s look at some of the ingredients.

dsc04255
I found this brand of coconut milk and it has only two ingredients. No gums. No thickeners. Coconut extract 85% and water. That’s it. In coffee, smoothies, baking and cooking it is divine. I usually pick up 6 of these tetra paks at a time. Is that hoarding? I get weird looks from the cashiers when I am unloading these on the conveyor belt.
Vital Proteins Collagen Peptides provide nutritional punch without adding grit or flavour.

Collagen is the most abundant protein on our bodies. It can help strengthen your hair and nails (my nails used to bend backwards easily) and improve the elasticity of your skin. My sleep is improving too. I used to be lucky to get 3-4 hours a night and not in one chunk either. I would have troubles falling asleep, or staying asleep or waking super early (read 3:00 am) and not be able to get back to sleep. The better sleep is a wonderful bonus. I wish I had found this when I was initially diagnosed with a Leaky Gut. Better late than never though. The food journey was/is important. I honestly enjoy this in my coffee every morning. I will add a scoop or two to cookies and muffins without hesitation.
So let’s get to our Pumpkin Chia Pudding shall we?
This is so easy. You will love this.

1 cup of full fat coconut milk

1/4 cup pumpkin puree

1/4 cup chia seeds

1 scoop Vital Proteins Collagen Peptides

2-3 teaspoons of maple syrup

2 teaspoons pumpkin pie spice blend

You can put all the things into a container with a tight fitting lid and shake to your heart’s content. Or, whisk it all up in a bowl. Depends how many dishes you want to wash. Some people prefer a smoother pudding like texture. If you fall into this camp, put everything into your blender and whip it up. Stop and scrape the sides down as needed. The little bead-like quality reminds me of tapioca pudding that we cooked stovetop years ago, so I keep it unblended. Back then, I thought of tapioca pudding as frog’s eye pudding. Gross thought, I know, but, oh well. Stash the pudding in the fridge for several hours or overnight is best.

dsc04259

Grab your spoon and tuck in. Share this with someone you love, or keep it all to yourself.
Want to make this 21 Day Sugar Detox friendly? Skip the maple syrup.

What about the vegans? Skip the collagen.
Chia seeds can hold up to 12 times their weight in water. This helps promote the sustained feeling of fullness. They form a gel like coating which helps act as a prebiotic to feed the probiotics in your gut. That slippery coating allows the seeds to nestle in between your teeth right at the gum line. Do yourself a favour and go floss.
We’ll get into the importance of flossing another day.

Leave a Reply

