Let’s have a cookie

img_2464Let’s chat about cookies, shall we? Most are round, which I feel is rather a friendly shape. Lots of good things come in round shapes. Cakes, pizza, pies, pancakes oh and of course, cookies. Ladybugs have polkadots which are round and everybody loves ladybugs. Heck, we even think it’s good luck to have this insect land on us. But, I digress. . .

Years ago, we lived a short walking distance from Starbucks. Doesn’t everybody? I think there was a brief period where there was a Starbucks on almost every corner. We would bundle the kids and walk to have an after dinner or weekend coffee. This stroll not only provided an outing, but we rationalized it to be cheaper to go out and buy a coffee on occasion rather than the beans, a grinder and decent machine to make our own. As the kids got older, we would “treat” them to a sweet square or cookie while we sipped our brew.

There were all the usual treats. Crisp rice squares, Oat Fudge Bars, various scones and a few select stores carried the Kitsilano Oatmeal cookie. This cookie had weight. My memory recalls it having so many tasty additions and very little actual “cookie”. There were seeds and nuts, raisins and chocolate chips in every bite. This cookie was big too. It damn near filled the paper sleeve if you chose to take it on the run versus eating it while in the store. 

Or am I remembering it the way I wanted it to be and not the way it was? Like the fact a Wagon Wheel used to fill the plastic white wrapper. Perhaps a case of Mandela Effect. Does anyone else recall this baked good at Starbucks? Maybe it was a Vancouver thing and other cities had their own version with a different name? Who knows. I only knew, I had to be able to get my hands on one any time the mood struck me, which was often around 11:00 pm, instead of having to bundle up toddlers and take my circus on the road. I tried creating my own version. 

This original version was born in 2001 or so. I had a fairly decent rendition that used an obscene amount of sugar, read: 2 cups! possibly an equal amount of margarine! and, GASP! multigrain flour and a few other “food like” products. But, they were homemade instead of the preservative laden cookies from a factory. I recall spraying my cookie sheet with canola oil spray. I am literally shuddering as I take that trip down memory lane. I would take the cookie sheet outside to spray it and hold my breath in the process. (Really?! The alarm bells should have been going off in my brain.) The hour spent scrubbing the pan after to get the sticky, gluey residue off was testimony to how good I thought these cookies were.Thankfully, I wrote out my recipe. As you may recall from other posts, this isn’t always standard protocol when it comes to me and my kitchen escapades. The paper is covered in greasy splats and can stand up on it’s own in a corner. At the time, I was pretty pleased with my original recipe and made it often. 

Fast forward many years to being diagnosed with gluten sensitivity due to a Leaky Gut and a bit of knowledge of how certain things affect my skin and my body and I have successfully recreated this decadent cookie. Don’t kid yourself though, there were a lot of unmentioned failures prior to this baby being announced.

I give you:

The Kitsilano Knock-Off Cookie

Don’t be put off by the long list of ingredients. As far as the add-ins go, you can totally wing it if you so choose, but this collection is really top-notch.

  • 1/2 cup ghee, softened butter or melted coconut oil
  • 2/3 cup coconut sugar
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1/2 cup almond flour
  • 1/2 cup coconut flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 cup gluten-free oats
  • 1 cup raisins
  • 3/4 cup chopped almonds
  • 3/4 cup chocolate chips (I truthfully just chuck in 2 small handfuls, so I’m guessing this amount)
  • 1/2 cup pumpkin seeds
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened coconut shreds

Preheat oven to 350

Mix ghee and sugar together until light and fluffy. Beat in eggs and vanilla. Add flours and baking soda and mix well. 

Depending how strong your mixer is, you may need to go to a wooden spoon once you add all the other stuff. Stir in the oats, raisins, seeds, chips and coconut shreds. Break down and mix with your hands if you need to.

Line your cookie sheet with a silicone mat.


I use a 1/4 cup scoop smallcookiescoopand pack it firmly. Best life hack move when it comes to baking cookies. Place 8 mounds of cookie dough onto your pan and use wet fingers to flatten the mounds into 1/2″ thick cookies. These do not spread out much at all. I found making them too thin resulted in very crumbly cookies that broke apart easily. Maybe that’s where the phrase comes from. You know, “that’s the way the cookie crumbles”. Someone was trying to make skinny, skimpy cookies. For shame.img_2470

                                 

Bake 15 minutes and let cool on the pan a few minutes before moving the cookies to a wire rack to finish cooling.

 Honestly, 2 cookies almost feels like a meal. I love having these on hand for a quick grab and go snack.

* * * * * * * * * * * * 

“I can’t eat coconut”  Fear not! You can make these by using butter or ghee and swapping banana flour (doesn’t give a banana flavour to the cookies) out for the coconut flour in equal amounts, use your usual brown or white sugar for the coconut sugar and skip the coconut shreds. 

“I don’t do dairy”  Got you covered too. The melted coconut oil instead of the ghee/butter option is fantastic and just get your hands on some dairy free chocolate chips which you probably already have, ‘cuz, well, you’re dairy-free.

“I don’t do grains”  So, skip the gluten free oats and increase your other add-ins.

Vegans, sorry, but, I haven’t tried these with a flax or chia egg, so, if you do, please let me know how they turn out.

Leave a Reply

