Let’s talk about breakfast

Who skips this important meal?

C’mon, hands up. What’s your excuse? For most breakfast skippers, it’s a time thing. “I don’t have time to make it”. Well, I’m going to poke a holes in that excuse right here and now.

I bet you set the timer on your coffee machine. It’s there to save you time. Pat yourself on the back, you are one step ahead already. You know the importance of time saved. You wake to the smell of the elixir of life coaxing your brain to a wakeful state. As easily as you program the coffee, you can prep breakfast.

The word breakfast splits into break and fast. Break the fast of that occurred while your body was resting, healing, repairing and growing. Now it needs energy to get you through the day. Time to put some gas in the tank and you may as well put something worthwhile in there too while you are at it.

I used to be borderline addicted to Count Chocula cereal. When I could no longer buy it in town, I had it shipped to me, by the case (because one box at a time was just silly), by a friend who lived in Toronto. Sweet marshmallows and chocolate crunchy bits, what was not to love? This, to me, was a food group. Yeesh! Now, if I can change the way I eat, anybody can. I would eat multiple bowls at a sitting. It was not uncommon for me to mix up chocolate milk to use in my cereal for breakfast. I wanted the milk at the end of the bowl to be super-chocolatey. The regular chocolating (is that even a word?) of the milk was not enough for me. How’s that for a dirty little secret? Let’s add more sugar to the sugar party shall we? My teeth hurt just thinking back to that time.

count chocula.jpg

Back to that whole “no time for breakfast” business. I work, I have a family and I like to binge watch Netflix as much as the next person. Do I want to get up an hour earlier to make a healthy breakfast every morning? Nope. Those polar fleece sheets are too cozy for that. I try to keep my life as easy and uncomplicated as possible. So, one learns to prep.

Breakfast for the week is ready to go in less than an hour of your time. Honest. Easy and tasty. You can seriously change the stuff in this crustless quiche to suit whatever you have on hand. Tomatoes (I seed them to avoid the soggy factor), bacon, ham, spinach, green beans, cheese if you eat it, cooked shrimp, fresh herbs . . . you get the idea. No wasted food and a happy tummy.

This is so crazy easy and so leftover friendly it’s fantastic. Grab some veg and anything that looks appealing from the fridge. I used some leftover gluten free sausages, yellow pepper and asparagus for this version.

Let’s make some breaky:

Preheat oven to 375

Grease a 9 x 13″ pan with ghee, butter, coconut oil, bacon grease, or whatever fat you love

  • 8 large eggs
  • 1/2 yellow pepper, cut into bite-sized piecesimg_2242
  • 6 asparagus spears, woody ends snapped off, cut into 1″ pieces
  • 4 cooked gluten-free sausages, cut into bite -sized pieces
  • 1/2 small onion, diced
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 1 clove of garlic, minced

Chop everything and dump into your greased dish. (One less thing to wash for the win.) Whisk your eggs in a separate bowl and gently pour over everything.

Bake 30-35 minutes. Let it cool and cut into 6 pieces and store in the fridge.

 



Leave a Reply

