Did someone say hamburger helper?

You are just about to fall asleep when, wham! Your brain finds the most random memory from waaaay back and clocks you upside your consciousness.

Hamburger Helper. image28

Cheeseburger Helper to be more precise.

Approximately one minute away from sweet slumber and that giggling, prancing white catoony glove pops into my mind’s eye. Really? Ugh! Now I can’t un-hear the jingle.

Brain is now in full action mode and I know that sleep has been pushed back on the horizon. My thoughts ranged from fudgesicles to coffee and finally settled back on that boxed Hamburger Helper. How could one make something comparable? Something I will eat?

I tweaked my mac n cheese recipe ever so slightly.img_2649

  • 2 smalls yams (the orange fleshed ones)
  • 3 cloves of garlic, minced
  • 1/2 cup chicken or beef stock (homemade is best)
  • 1 cup Bragg’s nutritional yeast flakes
  • 1/3 cup red palm oil
  • 3/4 cup full fat coconut milk (more depending on sauce thickness preferences)
  • 1/4 cup Frank’s Red Hot sauce (or other clean hot sauce)
  • 1 teaspoon onion powder
  • 1/4 tsp chill powder (optional)
  • salt and pepper to taste

 

Peel and chop the yams into approximately 1″ cubes. Add minced garlic and boil until fork tender. Using either a hand-stick blender (immersion), regular blender or food processor, blend the drained potatoes, stock, nutritional yeast, onion powder, Frank’s Red Hot sauce and palm oil. Slowly add the coconut milk and continue blending.  You want the sauce to be smooth, no tell-tale yam lumps in case you are trying to sneak the sauce past someone who may not be on board with eating a potato-based “cheese” sauce. Add chili powder, salt and pepper to taste.

My plan was to brown some ground beef and cook some gluten free pasta and stir this all together to recreate the one-pan meal from the ’80’s. I got as far as the ground beef and had to stop and “sample” the flavour. Needless to say I didn’t get around to making any noodles. Adding some gluten-free pasta would definitely make this go further. Chuck some roasted carrots or parsnips in too for bonus veg factor.  Elbow, penne or shells would lend themselves the best to cradle the sauce.

This is now in heavy rotation in my breakfastimg_2657 world. I’ll add a big dollop on top of my sautéed veg alongside my eggs (yolk running into this is heavenly). I’ve topped roasted brussel sprouts with it. Heating it magnifies the hot sauce (don’t kid yourself – this provides some good sinus clearing action). I’ve eaten it cold as a nacho/notyourcheese dip for chips (both organic tortilla and potato) and raw veg as a snack.

Who am I trying to kid? I’m dubbing this a condiment and it will find itself a staple in the fridge. I have mentioned I like things to be easy in my life. By finding something that will act as a base for many dishes, my life is less complicated and thus allows me more time to binge-watch Netflix.

If you or your loved ones are vegan, skip the beef or chicken broth and add veg stock. Nice easy swap without really changing the overall taste. I just like chicken and beef broth for the nutrient factor from slowly simmering quality bones.

I suspect this would make a comforting soup with a little more stock and perhaps a 1/4 cup of white wine in it to thin it slightly. Top it with some crumbled bacon? Um, yes please. (distracted brain going in yet another direction)

Sing the jingle with me,

“Hamburger Helper (Tuna Helper too) when you need a helping hand”

Leave a Reply

