Best time to go to the dentist? 2:30

Two thirty. Tooth hurty? Get it?

I know it’s an old one but it always makes me smile. Except when it’s true.

Regular dental check-ups aren’t a money grab. You may think your dentist is giving your chompers a cursory glance to justify his/her fee. Nope. Your dentist is checking your fillings (if you have them) for damage. They are on the lookout for recession (that is a whole ‘nother post). They are also looking at the tissues in your mouth and your tongue. They are looking for changes in these tissues that you may not see or you may think are normal looking bumps and splotches.

Having said that, if something twinges in your mouth, and by that I mean, if you have a tooth that suddenly starts talking to you when you eat or drink something hot or cold, make the call. You may not be due for your hygiene appointment for another 3 months, but a lot can happen in that time. You wouldn’t wait 3 months to get your car in to the mechanic if something was clunking under the hood would you? Probably not, because the bill to repair whatever was wrong will be soooo much bigger if you wait. Same goes for your teeth.

I digress.4271967801516

First: no comments necessary about the size of the filling or the fact it is an amalgam (silver) filling or that you can see another filling on the other molar.

Second: no comments necessary on the quality, clarity or framing of the photos either. My dentist didn’t know I wanted them until after they were taken. They were for insurance pre-authorization purposes.

Back to my tooth. One day, I noticed the tooth was being a little fussy. This poor molar  was occasionally feeling a little sensitive. I’m not talking about eating ice cream and needing to be peeled from the ceiling kinda sensitive. It was much milder than that. But it was enough to make me sit up and take notice.

I booked in for a spec exam within 2 days. The discomfort felt like it might have been from sinus pressure. I haven’t had a cold or any kind of sinus issue for a long time. In the past, my colds went directly to sinus infection-land and these used to happen frequently. Once I changed my eating habits, (quit gluten among other things) I haven’t had a cold or flu (or anything that everyone around me gets hit with) in years. I’m not exaggerating. My nick-name is Robot-Princess (that, is again, another story). I just don’t get sick. So sinus pain, though I used to experience it frequently when I was younger, was now unfamiliar. Then I thought, maybe, I’ve cracked my tooth. At the time, I wasn’t sure which would have been a preferential outcome. Sinus infections suck because of the antibiotics, how lousy they make you feel and the havoc they wreak on your gut flora. A cracked tooth also sucks, because, well, cracked tooth. The picture and x-ray showed I had a fracture. Ugh!

Upon removal of the old filling, we got a look at how bad it really was. What we thought was a small hairline crack from the filling to the edge was far more than I had bargained for. 4276152886016

I had cracked my tooth from stem to stern under that silver filling. I’m a clencher. I wear a night guard every night to protect my teeth from me. I must do some of the damage during the day. I’m damn lucky my entire tooth didn’t break in half. (And yes I know, the photo is 180 degrees rotated in comparison the the other picture.) Heroic efforts were made to protect the integrity of this poor molar. Thankfully, I did not need root canal therapy. The tooth was and still is vital.

My dentist and his team are amazing. They provide support and just the right amount of teasing when necessary. I now have a pretty crown on the tooth and the cold sensitivity has been kicked to the curb. Had I waited to have my tooth looked at, it could have been a whole lot worse.

The lesson to be learned from this? If something feels different in your mouth, be it hot or cold sensitivity, or your bite feels outta whack, don’t wait. Get to the dentist. Invest the money and time in yourself. You need your teeth to help you chew and talk and you need them to last a lifetime.

Oh, and floss.

Leave a Reply

