Soup is good food

Now, if you were into punk music back in the early 80’s you may have heard that line in a Dead Kennedys song by the same name, from their album Frankenchrist. The album cover depicted Shriners driving around in tiny cars in what looks like a parade. Totally aging myself there. Those lyrics and that band aren’t for everyone, so we won’t continue the recitation any further.

The other night I was throwing food together for dinner. I had all kinds of veg that were going to sit ‘neath some lovely chicken thighs. That is another post altogether as that dinner turned out really well. However, I have a non-meat eater in my flock, so, chicken thighs were a no-go. (flock, chicken, see what I did there?)  Nor were the veg under the chicken going to be consumed.

As I was rooting around in the crisper, my eye came to rest on some asparagus that were nearly forgotten at the bottom of the drawer. I really hate wasting food. That upsets me on many levels so I grabbed the bag and thought what the heck can I do with these heavenly spears before they get all slimy and icky? We had had steamed asparagus several times during the week and we were getting kinda tired of them. My brain began to percolate and smoke, then, in a “EUREKA I found it” kinda moment, I had the answer.

The best parts were:

  1. I had everything on hand
  2. It took about 30 minutes from start to finish
  3. All real ingredients, nothing sketchy or unpronounceable
  4. Food waste averted

img_2689

Curried asparagus soup:

  • 1 pound asparagus, woody ends snapped and cut into 1″ pieces
  • 1 tablespoon minced garlic
  • 1/2 an onion, minced
  • 4 cups stock (chicken, or vegetable if you want to make this vegan)
  • 1 tablespoon ghee or coconut oil (coconut oil if you are vegan)
  • 1/2 teaspoon dried rosemary
  • 1/2 teaspoon dried sage
  • 1/2 teaspoon paprika
  • 1/4 cup full fat coconut milk
  • 1/2 tablespoon curry powder (or more if you are game)
  • salt and pepper to taste

In a heavy bottomed pot, melt the ghee or coconut oil over medium heat. Sauté the onion until translucent. Add the garlic and asparagus and cook until fragrant. Add the stock, rosemary, sage and paprika and just bring to a boil. Reduce heat, cover and simmer until asparagus is very tender.

Using a hand-held immersion blender, puree the soup until smooth. You could use a regular blender, but you have to do that in small batches with a vented lid otherwise you are going to get burned and be cleaning soup from the ceiling. Just saying.

Once the soup is smooth, stir in the coconut milk and the curry powder. Salt and pepper to taste and bask in the compliments.

 

Leave a Reply

