Frosting fails and the birth of a new ball

I’m not entirely sure why my go-to cookie shape seems to be balls these days.

Could be because they are two-bite size. Could be because I get to use my handy little small scoop that I love so much. Could be because I simply like saying balls. Balls. In my head, I hear the Saturday Night live skit with Alec Baldwin and his “Schweaty Balls” over and over. Gets me giggling every time. Schweaty Balls.

I did not set out to make balls this weekend. I made strawberry coconut muffins and planned on topping them with a lovely vanilla whipped frosting to make ’em all fancy-like. That went sideways real quick. The original recipe for the frosting called for palm shortening. I do not have that on hand, so I improvised with some melted coconut oil. Yeah, yeah, I can hear your giggles. “You’re so silly, that substitution won’t work.” “Ghee or butter would have been a better swap.” Yeah, I kinda figured that out a little too late. Well, you’re right. Melted coconut oil did not make for a good substitution. No matter what I did to the mixture in the bowl, it just was not about to magically come together and transform into the creamy whipped frosting in the book. Sigh.

I hate wasting ingredients so I had to find a way to salvage what was in my bowl. Like the Grinch, I puzzled and puzzled til my puzzler was sore. Then I got an idea. A wonderful, not awful, idea. I grabbed a few more things from the shelf and put the oven on. My face may have resembled that of the Grinch’s maniacal grin at that moment.

img_2883

I do this type of rogue baking when the house is empty and no one is around to watch me sweat and swear, uh, I mean, make magic.

These are light little bites of heaven. Not overly sweet and they are full of great fat thanks to the coconut oil swap debacle.

Goji berry and cacao nib balls:

  • 1/2 cup melted coconut oil
  • 1/4 cup honey
  • 1/4 teaspoon vanilla
  • 3 tablespoons coconut flour
  • 2 tablespoons almond flour
  • 1 egg
  • pinch of salt
  • 2 1/2 cups unsweetened coconut shreds
  • 1/4 cup cacao nibs
  • 1/4 cup goji berries (I soaked mine in warm water for a few minutes as they were rock hard)

Preheat the oven to 350. line a cookie sheet with a silicon mat or parchment paper.

Using a hand mixer, beat the honey, coconut oil, egg, vanilla, salt, coconut flour and almond flour together.

Mix in the coconut shreds. Drain the goji berries (if you soaked them) and blot dry with some paper towel. Stir in the cacao nibs and add the goji berries last to minimize the colour bleed into the cookies.

Pack your dough into that handy little cookie scoop and drop your cookies onto the sheet. Still no cookie scoop? (Seriously, go get one. Next time someone asks what you want for your birthday/Christmas/Valentine’s Day/Festivus/whatever you do or don’t celebrate, tell them you want a cookie scoop.) You will have to go old school then. Wet your hands and roll your balls.

These will not spread out during baking. Bake for 15 minutes. Let cool on the sheet for a few minutes before moving them to a wire rack to cool completely.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

