For the love of ghee and screaming for ice cream 

What happens when you blend ghee, honey, turmeric and coconut milk together? Magic.

Ever heard of PaleoFx? IN a nutshell, it is a conference that has everything to do with food, health and wellness. The world comes together for three days to listen to renowned speakers and experts on nutrition and body optimization. Some of the best speakers were found in the exhibit hall too. Friday and saturday, I hit all the booths and spoke with all the vendors. I learned their stories and what makes each of these participating companies special.

I met the most knowledgable man when it comes to ghee and spices while attending PFX17 in Austin Texas. Sandeep Agarwal and his family have been making ghee for 5 generations. They know their stuff. Everything is made by hand in small batches to ensure the utmost in quality. They make their ghee as they would make it for their own family. The heart in their logo is all about the love they put in their products. What does this have to do with ice cream you may be wondering. I will get there eventually. I promise.

In case you don’t know what ghee is, it is grass fed butter that has been clarified to remove all but trace amounts of casein and lactose. Ghee is a nutrient dense food that can be enjoyed in everything from daily cooking to coffee to ice cream. Yes, ice cream. That’s where I come in.

Sleep was elusive to say the least while attending this event. My head was buzzing from all the information I was taking in and the ways to implement everything I was learning in my own world. Saturday night, as my eyes were finally closing, the thought of ice cream and ghee popped into my head. It wasn’t unlike the old chocolate and peanut butter commercial from way back. I couldn’t wait to get to the Palmer Conference Centre.

I left the Pure Indian Foods booth on Sunday with a jar of the Coconut Ghee and visions of ice cream dancing in my head.

img_3025

Honey turmeric ice cream:

  • 20 ounces of room temperature full fat coconut milk (cold will cause the ghee to solidify in chunks)
  • 1/4 cup of honey
  • 2 tablespoons melted Coconut Ghee (I used Pure Indian Foods)
  • 1/8 teaspoon ground turmeric
  • 1 tablespoon of Vital Proteins Gelatin (provides amazing texture and gut-healing properties)
  • 1/4 cup boiling water (to dissolve the gelatin)

Pour the coconut milk, honey and ghee into a blender and process until smooth. Dissolve the gelatin in the boiling water and whisk in the turmeric. Add the dissolved gelatin and turmeric to the coconut milk and blend again unit completely incorporated. Place in the fridge to cool for approximately an hour.

Quickly blend again prior to adding the mixture to the ice cream maker. Freeze according to manufacturers instructions. My Cuisinart machine took about 25 minutes.  If you prefer your ice cream more of a soft-serve consistency, dig in. Otherwise, transfer to a glass loaf pan and freeze for a couple of hours for firmer ice cream. Let sit at room temperature for 15 minutes to make scooping easier.

I sprinkled mine with some Wild Hibiscus Flower Pyramid Salt Flakes just before eating. Truth time? I had this for breakfast right after my faTT coffee.

 

Leave a Reply

