A quick trip down memory lane and Ranchish dip

To say my skin hurt, would be an understatement. The itching was deep and constant.

By running my hands under near-boiling water, I would get some distraction relief that was attributed to the pain I was inflicting on myself. For the record, I do not recommend anyone do that. It really hurts. I keep these pictures on my phone as a constant reminder of how far I have healed and why I need to be ever-vigilant in reading labels.

Gluten-free and Paleo are not fads. They are not trends. They are not diets. They are necessary food templates for my health, the health of my gut and my skin. I am fortunate that I do not suffer form severe gastrointestinal distress or life-threatening illness from gluten exposure. Instead, my skin is my health barometer.

Am I ever tempted to allow myself a “cheat” item? No. I’m not. I no longer think of donuts, cookies, cake, bread or cereal as food for me. The resulting backlash of skin distress that will last for weeks or months is simply is not worth it.

Looking at these photos makes me wince. Let’s move on to more pleasant things.

Warm weather and BBQ’s call for veggies and chips and dip.

I gave up dairy when I went Paleo, so, commercial dips went out the window. Plus, can you really pronounce some of those ingredients? I get why there are preservatives in all the things. Food products in the grocery store need to last a long time for profitability. If the manufacturers made things without them, things would spoil before the consumer got them home. My solution is to make what I can at home, and eat it as I make it. Is this time consuming? Yes! Would I rather have my nose in a book or be logging time at the beach in the shade? Yes! Would I rather binge watch Netflix or go for a walk? I think you get the idea. Meal planning and prep is the key. Chop some veg for a few days so it is ready to grab and go when hunger strikes.

IMG_3089.jpg

Ranchish dip:

  • 6 tablespoons Paleo mayo (my favourite is (Chosen Foods Avocado Oil Mayo)
  • 2 tablespoons full fat coconut milk
  • 1 tablespoon dried parsley
  • 1 teaspoon onion powder
  • 1 teaspoon lemon juice
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon dried dill
  • 1/2 teaspoon minced garlic

Whisk everything together in a small bowl. Grab your veggies, cue the movie and snack away to your hearts content. Chicken wings are also pretty dang tasty dipped in this stuff. Just sayin’.

Vegan: swap for an egg-free mayo and you are on your way

Leave a Reply

