Prep once, cook twice and making the easiest Greek salad dressing

Is making salad technically “cooking”? Hmmm. . .

I know I have mentioned a certain laziness I possess. Maybe not lazy per se, but I have bursts of insane busyness followed by moments of sloth-like conjoining to the couch with a book or cat or Netflix or any combo thereof. When I am in busy-mode, it’s best to stay outta the kitchen unless you like loud music and organized chaos. It’s not uncommon for me to have about 4 different things on the go at the same time along with splattered notepads scrawled with cryptic notes and thoughts on future versions of whatever I am making.

When I am in accomplishment mode, I like to have things do double duty for me. Prep once, eat twice. Take the easiest Greek salad dressing going. This will be bathing all the beautiful chunky veg of my Greek-styled salad and then get slathered on some wild sockeye salmon that will be going under the broiler for dinner tonight.

img_3312

After trying probably 7 other extra virgin olive oils, my heart has settled on this one by Kasandrinos. The taste is light enough to drizzle on food as a finish without masking the other flavours. I keep a mini bottle in my purse to put on salad when I am dining out. Yes, I really do. I don’t care if anyone looks at me weirdly. I order my salads without dressing and ask for a slice of lemon on the side. Eyes on your own plate people.

Be an ingredient snob within your means.

Use real garlic, not the stuff in a plastic jar that is sitting in citric acid. Citric acid is often derived from corn or sugar beets. Those two crops are often genetically altered for all the reasons any crop is modified, so if you are trying to steer clear of GMO’s, you owe it to yourself to use real garlic. Just one more reason to read your labels. Hate the tedium of mincing garlic with a knife? Buy a garlic press or heck, a Slap-Chop for that matter. Placing the flat of your chef knife on the clove and giving it a quick pound will smash your clove of garlic and make slicing or mincing much easier. This also releases the oils from the clove if you are going to drop it into a dish whole.

Easiest Greek salad dressing:

  • 1/4 cup extra virgin olive oil
  • juice of 1 freshly squeezed lemon
  • 1 clove of fresh garlic, minced
  • 1 generous teaspoon dried oregano
  • 1/2 teaspoon sea salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon black pepper

Whisk everything together and let sit until ready to use it in your salads or as a marinade. This allows the garlic and oregano to release their flavours into the oil and acid mixture.

Whisk it again before using.

2 thoughts on “Prep once, cook twice and making the easiest Greek salad dressing

Leave a Reply

