More cookies

DSC04295.JPG

When you bring together a few simple things together in just the right proportions, magic happens. These macaroons are a wonderful example of that magic.

Today, I tried my hand at making my own egg nog. Because, well, egg nog. Goodness knows, I love me some of that stuff. I like it on it’s own, in my coffee, with or without a shot of rum. I think you get the message. I love this stuff. I look forward to egg nog latte season at Starbucks. Doesn’t everybody? The cheaper side of me has a hard time shelling out a small ransom for one when I could buy the stuff to make my own for about the same cash outlay. Plus, let’s not forget about all the things contained in that egg nog you buy. I can’t pronounce more than half of that stuff.

I’m happy to report, the egg nog was easy and pretty tasty. I’ll post it and the steps another time. This is all about cookies, remember?

The nog required egg yolks, leaving me with 3 egg whites. What is a person to do? I scanned the pantry shelf and grabbed the shredded coconut, coconut flour and some honey. One of my grandmothers used to make macaroons when I was young. I recall them being like delicate birds nests. The first bite caused the cookie to crumble. I mean, totally break apart. I recall wearing most of the cookie and crumbs all over the table and floor. Such a waste.

When it comes to food, especially cookies, I don’t like wasting anything. These are quality ingredients and they aren’t hitting the floor anytime soon on my watch. These are bite sized flavour bombs that aren’t too sweet. A couple of these guys with a faTT coffee would make a great little breakfast.

Coconut macaroons:

  • 3 egg whites (pastured eggs are best if you can get your hands on them)
  • 1/4 cup coconut flour
  • 2 tablespoons honey
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 2 cups unsweetened shredded coconut

Preheat oven to 350 and line a baking sheet with a silicone mat or parchment paper.

Beat the egg whites until really frothy with a handheld or stand mixer. Add vanilla and honey and continue mixing until well combined.

Add the coconut flour and mix well. (it probably looks like gruel at this point) Stir in the unsweetened coconut shreds.

Grab your 1 tablespoon cookie scoop and pack it really well with the cookie mash. (this doesn’t really resemble ‘dough’ in the sense of most other cookie dough).

smallcookiescoop

 

Bake cookies for 12-15 minutes, watching they don’t burn. Let them cool on the baking sheet a few minutes before moving them to a wire rack to cool completely. Makes approximately 18 bite sized cookies. Start to finish was maybe 30 minutes, including cleanup time.

 

To make them more exciting, you could melt some chocolate chips and drizzle on the tops or dip half the cookies. Change the flavour by switching the honey for maple syrup or coconut nectar. Add a few cacao nibs or mini chocolate chips and you really got something fancy.

If you need me, I’m heating some of my egg nog up for coffee and grabbing a few cookies to go with it.

 

 

Leave a comment